amvans's Blog

Musings from a confirmed "Technical Difficulty"

My First Blog

Originally Posted: by Marie Vans on Sunday, June 12, 2005 at 5:01am

I finally made the big leap into blog-ville. I’ve been thinking about it for a while because I need a place to vent. I’ve read too many blogs by other people and I figure it’s my turn.

I ‘m an American living in an unnamed Middle Eastern country. I ‘m not a citizen of the country in which I live with my husband and three children, all of whom are citizens. I will never be a citizen. Not that I can’t, it’s just that I won’t. Not interested. Getting citizenship won’t change my 3rd class treatment, as my husband will testify. It’s my little way of protesting.

So, you ask, why are you living there? It’s not that I’m a sucker for punishment, although sometimes a certain amount of satisfaction comes from being both a victim and being right. No, the simple reason is that my husband’s family is here and, quite frankly, when raising young children, nothing beats the myriad of ready-made babysitters than those that inevitably come with a large family. In America, where extended family means a minimum of an hour’s drive to see Grandma, the supply of instant help is quite limited and in my case, non-existent. I want my children to grow up with REAL family values. Where people are more important than time and money. (Not the kind where we all shake hands with our neighbors in church on Sunday and then run over each other in the parking lot in a mad dash to get on to the next scheduled thing.) We may not have an 80-foot RV or 4 cars (nor could we afford the gas) but at least I know my children are being looked after by people who love them.

Living where I do has turned me into a political animal. You simply cannot live here and live in la-la land like a lot of American couch-potatoes. You really do have to be on your toes. Gotta keep those passports and important papers ready. Just in case. (Yes, paranoid and SO American!) I probably read 10 international news site everyday along with several blogs and other alternative news sources. My favorites list is a mess. It’s a miracle I get any work done at all.

I take risks. I can’t find a decent bookstore or library anywhere around here so I order all my stuff from Amazon. I’m worried Big Brother is taking note of all my purchases. Don’t do much, after all, I’m a non-person. Read Michael Moore, David Corn and Noam Chomsky. But worried. Will I end up on the no-fly list? I don’t exactly agree with much of anything coming out of the White House these days. OK. I’ll admit it. I don’t agree with anything and I’m suspicious of everything they say.

So that’s my first blog. Mostly I’ll just vent about the injustice of it all.

anna_mabsulta

hey, where’s the spell check anyway?????

Leave a Reply

